Posts tagged Annual Meeting

USATF-NE Annual Meeting Election Results

Thank you to everyone who attended our Annual Meeting on Sunday. In case you missed it, here is a brief recap of those elected to the USATF-NE Board of Governors, which includes a mix of incumbents and new individuals.


  • President: Tom Derderian
  • Secretary: Steve Viegas
  • Treasurer: Stephen Peckiconis
  • Vice Presidents: Jim Garcia, John Oleski, Chris Pasko
  • Men’s Long Distance Running (LDR) Chair: John Barbour
  • Women’s LDR Chair: Lisa Doucett
  • Masters LDR Chair: Jan Holmquist
  • Youth Chair: Alex Ivanov
  • Track & Field Chair: Zach Emerson
  • Masters Track & Field Chair: Mike Travers
  • Cross Country Chair: Chris Canning
  • Mountain, Ultra, Trail (MUT) Chair: Paul Kirsch
  • Race Walking Chair: Justin Kuo
  • Athlete’s Representatives: Eric Ashe, Jim Burgoyne, Jennifer Mortimer


In the coming week, you’ll be able to find information on the new board members, the various reports that were presented and distributed at the meeting, as well as the full meeting minutes on the Board page.

Annual Meeting Recap

Thanks to all of our members who attended the USATF-NE Annual Meeting at homework service the end of September. As our Managing Director Steve Vaitones said, we are a “club of clubs.” And it’s great when we can come together, from various clubs and event backgrounds, to share ideas, spur discussions on ways to improve the association and increase competition within the sport locally, and elect people to lead the charge on these initiatives.

When we gathered at the Weston Hotel in Waltham, MA, those named for Athlete of the Month were recognized and updates were given by Sports Chairs, Board Members and association employees. Positions for Sports Chairs, Athlete Representatives and Delegates to the USATF National Meeting were voted in.

Congrats to four of our new USATF-NE officers

Congrats to four of our new USATF-NE officers

Six new individuals were voted onto the Board: Alison Wade (Unattached) will serve as Track & Field Chair and Alex Ivanov (Nitehawks Sports Club) is the new Youth Athletics Chair; Brennan Bonner (Greater Boston Track Club) and Larissa Park (Somerville Road Runners) were elected as Men’s and Women’s Long Distance Running Chairs, respectively, with Lisa Doucett (Cambridge Sports Union) moving from Women’s Chair to Masters LDR Chair. Continuing in their positions are Jason Cakouros (HFC Striders) as Cross Country Chair, Paul Kirsch (White Mountain Milers) as Mountain/Ultra/Trail Chair, Justin Kuo (New England Walkers) as Race Walking Chair and Mike Travers (Mass Velocity Track Club) as Masters Track and Field Chair. Returning Athletes Representative Jason Ayr (Western Mass Distance Project) will be joined by Eric Ashe (Boston Athletic Association) and Amanda Wright (Sisu Project).

Visit the Board of Governors page on our website for more information on our officers and how to contact them if you have an idea or would like to get more involved.




Don’t forget, the USATF-NE Annual Meeting is September 22

Attention all USATF-NE members, our annual meeting is coming up, so don’t forget to pencil this into your calendars. The meeting will be held on Sunday, September 22 at the Westin Waltham Hotel, where there will be ample food and a cash bar. So join us, grab a beer and discuss the issues that are top of mind for you with fellow association members, teammates and friends.


Go to Top